Upcoming Events

Children’s Behavioral Solutions-Acadia Healthcare has been approved by NBCC as an Approved Continuing Education Provider, ACEP No. 7111. Programs that do not qualify for NBCC credit are clearly identified. Children’s Behavioral Solutions-Acadia Healthcare is solely responsible for all aspects of the programs.

Roll with the Changes! Fostering Resiliency in Today’s World

 September 2nd | 3:00pm Eastern | 2:00pm Central | 1:00pm Mountain | 12:00pm Pacific

Event Dexcription:

This training will provide participants with an informative, practical, and applied look at what resiliency is and how to enhance resiliency skills in youth and adults. Participants will learn what resiliency is, why it matters, and the relationship between grit and resiliency. Characteristics of an effective suicide prevention program will also be explored. An emphasis will be placed on innovative approaches to enhancing the five core elements of resiliency including: connection, behavior, attitude, world view, and goals/planning.

Learning Objectives

  • Explain what resiliency is and why it matters in today’s complex world.
  • Discuss the relationship between resiliency and suicide prevention.
  • Describe grit as a tool to enhance resiliency and prevent the onset of suicidal ideation.
  • Explain how to embed innovative resiliency strategies into the therapeutic process to improve social, emotional, and behavioral functioning.

Understanding Trauma and Resolution

September 16th | 1:00 pm Eastern

This course will help attendees facilitate a deeper understanding of the mechanisms of trauma and how it may impact clients on a day to day basis. We will additionally look at the latest research on therapeutic interventions and assess different treatment modalities. Attendees will leave this workshop with an expanded tool kit for diagnosing and assessing trauma, as well as treatment options.

Learning Objectives

  • Analyze the mechanism of trauma and explain why certain events become “stuck”.
  • Explain how “stuckness” and preoccupation cause problems for individuals.
  • Identify the different types of therapeutic interventions that aim to address and resolve trauma, including the latest and most successful methodologies.

Treating Adolescent Appearance Concerns in the Age of Social Media

November 17th | 1:00pm Eastern | 12:00pm Central | 11:00am Mountain | 10:00am Pacific

Body image problems are nearly universal in countries like the United States. The workshop will explore the difference between ‘normative discontent’ regarding one’s appearance vs. body image concerns which warrant clinical attention. Various theoretical perspectives and treatment options for appearance concerns will be presented, drawing from psychotherapies for eating disorder treatment, highlighting how to help adolescents decouple their self-esteem and identity from body image. The social and cultural context for body image concerns and the role of social media in potentially exacerbating such concerns will be explored.

Learning Objectives

  • Differentiate normative discontent from body image problems requiring clinical attention.
  • Discuss how various psychotherapies for eating disorders conceptualize and address body image concerns.
  • Assist children and adolescents in decoupling their self-esteem and identity from appearance concerns.
  • Explain the role of “diet culture” and social media in potentially contributing to adolescent body image problems.

Our National Placement Services
  • Children's Behavioral Solutions
  • Military & Family Support Services
  • Treatment Placement Specialists

Our National Affiliations & Organizations
  • Commission on Accreditation of Rehabilitation Facilities (CARF)
  • National Alliance on Mental Illness (NAMI)
  • National Association for Behavioral Healthcare
  • National Association of Addiction Treatment Providers (NAATP)
  • The Jason Foundation
  • The Joint Commission (JCAHO) Gold Seal of Approval